• B Infinity
  • Utilita
  • F Pro Life
  • E Curtis Sport
  • A Skyview
  • B Joma
  • C Braehead
  • Big Front Door
  • Uws.png
  • Dd Paisley2021
  • Just Employment Law
  • D West College

Match Report: Falkirk 2-2 St Mirren

St Mirren extended their unbeaten run in the Ladbrokes Championship to seven matches with a 2-2 draw against Falkirk. 

The Buddies took the lead twice thanks to goals from Rory Loy and Stephen McGinn before being pegged back on two occasions by Lee Miller and Bob McHugh.

The point keeps St Mirren in 8th place with just three matches remaining. 

Saints started the match in hungry fashion with Kyle Magennis almost netting his third goal in two weeks when he intercepted a loose pass on the half way line and charged forward. The 18 year-old burst into the box and lashed a powerful effort into the arms of Robbie Thomson. 

The early pressure would pay off with just six minutes on the clock when Rory Loy scored against his former team. A ball across from Adam Eckersley on the left almost found it's target in John Sutton. The striker was unable to get ahead of his marker, but the ball fell kindly to Loy who smashed St Mirren into the lead.

And one could've almost become two very soon after when Cammy Smith's header almost doubled Saints advantage. Goalscorer Loy clipped the ball into the box where the loanee looked to have nodded Saints 2-0 up only for Thomson to push away.

St Mirren looked in control, but the hosts found themselves level on 20 minutes through Lee Miller. A free kick 25 yards from goal was whipped in to the back post by James Craigen. It looked to be drifting out for a goal kick, but Luca Gasparotto managed to square the ball to Miller who tapped in from close range. 

Falkirk had gotten themselves a footing in the match which proved to be end-to-end until the end of the half. Miller blazed over minutes before a fast counter from Saints saw Loy send an effort wide.

The Buddies won a free kick just before half time after Mallan was brought down. The 21 year-old took it low, but Thomson did well to deny him a 10th goal of the season. 

Half Time: Falkirk 1-1 St Mirren

The first chance of the second half fell for Saints with the impressive Magennis curling an effort into the arms of Thomson. 

Saints won a free kick in 'Mallan Territory' soon after when Loy was nudged by Mark Kerr. Mallan stepped up but smacked the attempt off the Falkirk wall. The Buddies won the ball after it broke and worked it down the right side with Magennis sending a low fizzing ball into the six yard box. However, Thomson was there to claim.

The Buddies took the lead for the second time on the hour mark when Stephen McGinn curled a shot from 20 yards into the top corner. The captain found the ball up and picked his spot leaving the stretching Thomson with no chance. It was a stunning goal from the skipper and put Saints back in the driver's seat.

Falkirk reacted by bringing on Nathan Austin, Fraser Aird and Bob McHugh in place of John Baird, Mark Kerr and Lee Miller. And it was McHugh who got the hosts equalised with 13 minutes to go with his first touch. A free kick deep in the St Mirren half was whipped in to the box by Aird. Saints tried to get the ball away but the ball fell to McHugh who slammed home to pull Falkirk level for a second time. 

Lewis Morgan made his return from injury sooner than expected when he replaced Sutton on 81 minutes. It was a pleasing moment for the Saints late on as they settled for a point in the race for Championship survival. 

Full Time: Falkirk 2-2 St Mirren

St Mirren: O'Brien, Irvine, Baird, MacKenzie, Eckersley, Magennis, Mallan, McGinn, Smith (Storie 85), Loy (Todd 88), Sutton (Morgan 81)
Subs Not Used: Langfield, Gordon, Quinn, Fjelde

Falkirk: Thomson, Leahy, Muirhead, Taiwo, Gasparotto, Grant, Kerr (Aird 67), Craigen, Sibbald, Baird (Austin 67), Miller (McHugh 77)
Subs Not Used: Rogers, Kidd, Gallacher, Shepherd

Referee: Craig Thomson
Assistant Referee: Alan Mulvanny
Assistant Referee: Simon MacLean

Attendance: 4734 (1427 St Mirren supporters)

Our thanks to Falkirk FC photographer Ian Sneddon for providing the header image. 

  • Ladbrokes
  • BT Sport
  • Sky Sports
  • Ladbrokes SPFL Championship